Revealing the secrets of the gods?

The never-ending sweater. This is the sweater I began so many months ago, believing (or at least hoping) that I could actually finish it by the time my knitting class ended in late December. Now, six weeks past the end of my class, I’m still knitting…and knitting…

cardi-in-progress

I’m shaping the yoke right now, which just seems to be going on forever. I feel like the end is in sight, and yet it keeps slipping further and further away.

It’s a bit like being the character Tantalus from Greek mythology. He was punished for revealing the secrets of the gods to mortals, his punishment being to stand in a pool of water beneath the branches of a heavily-laden fruit tree. Whenever he bends to drink water, it recedes away. Whenever he reaches for a piece of fruit, the branches lift the fruit just beyond his grasp.

Now, did I reveal the secrets of the gods to anyone? I don’t remember doing so, but I can’t otherwise explain why this cardigan isn’t getting finished.

3 Responses to “Revealing the secrets of the gods?”

  1. Oh, I hate that feeling, and it happens towards the end of every sweater. The only good news is that when I start feeling that way, it usually means that I’m coming toward the finish line — it’s just hard to remember that while you’re slogging through…

  2. […] my sweater Remember that sweater from 2008, the one I designed myself, the one I started optimistically in September 2008 and […]

Leave a Reply

