Impulse WIP, or WIP #4

After months or perhaps even years of ruthless self-discipline, I have finally broken my vow of having only one project on the go at any one time. I now have four WIPs. Four! I’ll begin the countdown with my most recent impulse cast-on.

I was in Ithaca last Friday, browsing through Homespun Boutique (on East State St.; no website) on an impulse. I thought about buying some yarn for Brooklyn Tweed’s latest gorgeous pattern from the current issue of Vogue Knitting (previously gushed about here), but I didn’t see what I’d had in mind. Then I saw the Noro. I remembered that gorgeous scarf Brooklyn Tweed had knit awhile back, and thought it would be just the thing. So I bought some.

My current Impulse WIP is a mixture of Noro Kureyon (for the gentle color variations) and Berocco Peruvia in a rich reddish brown. The colors are simply stunning, and I love the way the Noro gently changes from one row to the next.

mmmm, indeed!

I have to say, though, that I’m not feeling the love for Noro. I’ve read all sorts of rave reviews, but even though I love the colors, the yarn itself is, well, a little scratchy. And the color changes aren’t always as subtle as I’d like them to be. Early on, a few odd orange blobs appeared, several rows before the colors began developing into orange shades.

Oh well. It’s going to be gorgeous anyway. I may have to wear this one only with turtlenecks to avoid face chafing, but if that’s the price I have to pay for such beauty…

2 Responses to “Impulse WIP, or WIP #4”

  1. That is gorgeous! I especially love it with the stripes of something more solid. It’s true about the scratchiness; I keep hearing that it softens up some with washing, but we’ll see how I feel about my half-pi shawl when it’s done…

  2. It looks lovely! I found the Noro scratchy too, and wound up using silk garden for a scarf for that very reason.

Leave a Reply

