sunny day…indoors

It’s been a glorious day outside, and I (foolishly?) spent the whole day indoors…shopping.

You see, I’ve been planning a big shopping trip for months. After having lived for years in the Boston area, where I could get anything I needed almost any time, it’s been quite an adjustment living here in the Finger Lakes. Stores don’t stay open until 9pm, and sometimes aren’t open on Sundays. They ahve very limited selections, and most of the stores I’m used to having around the corner are now more than an hour’s drive away.

So, in desperate need of clothes and makeup, I headed to a giant mall outside Rochester. Wouldn’t it just figure that after more than a week of cold rainy weather, this would be a glorious sunny day? But this was my window of opportunity–both kids were out of the house until 5pm, so if I wanted to shop in peaceful silence (as opposed to shopping with the continual groans of a 3- and 6-year-old, I had to go today. I wore myself out shopping and came home with two pairs of jeans and one cotton sweater. How disappointing! Maybe I should just bite the bullet and schedule a few shopping trips to Boston or to NYC a year. I’m not a fashion snob–far from it–but it just seems like all the clothes around here are really dowdy or suitable only for teenagers. That’s just not what I need at a time of life when I’m desperately trying to avoid middle-aged-dowdiness–and have no desire whatsoever to look like a teenager…

Oh well. Maybe I’ll just have to knit a new wardrobe. (I can hear you laughing already–I know there hasn’t been much progress on the knitting front for ages!)

Jocelyn has a meme on her site and rather than tag others to do the meme, she asked for volunteers. So here goes!

The rules of the game get posted at the beginning. Each player answers the questions about themselves. At the end of the post, the player then tags 5-6 people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read your blog. Let the person who tagged you know when you’ve posted your answer.

1. What was I doing 10 years ago?
I was living in Austin, Texas, totally miserable with my job, and secretly applying for jobs anywhere north of the Mason-Dixon line. (I was seeking cooler weather and liberal-minded folks.)

2. What are 5 things on my to-do list for today (not in any particular order):
Get the boys up, dressed, fed, and ready for school; figure out how to get to the mall near Rochester; drive to the mall; buy gorgeous clothes that make me look younger, thinner, and fabulous; check the garden for progress; relax.

3. Snacks I enjoy:Good cheese, fresh-baked bread (whenever I can get it!), french fries, strawberries

4. Things I would do if I were a billionaire:
Pay off debt. Fully fund all the kids’ college accounts. Have my mom’s bills all sent to me. Pay cash for my sister’s chemotherapy so she can tell the insurance companies to f*ck off. Set up a scholarship at my alma mater for history students, who always have to scramble for every penny. Fund the local Teen Center so they won’t have to close in October if they can’t find other funding.

5. Places I have lived:
North Texas; Washington, DC; Graz, Austria; High Wycombe, UK; North Carolina; suburban Boston; Finger Lakes, NY

6. Jobs I have had:
Fettler, fast-food restaurant worker (2 days!), maid, kindergarten assistant, baker’s assistant, office assistant, teaching assistant, marketing assistant, editorial assistant, editor at various levels, and now digital content developer

I just can’t bring myself to impose on anyone’s work load, so I’ll leave this meme here rather than tag anyone.

Have a happy and safe weekend!

One Response to “sunny day…indoors”

  1. Thanks for grabbing the meme! I have to ask (although I’m sure i should know), what’s a fettler (does this have anything to do with horses?)? I know what you mean about shopping. I really don’t enjoy doing it, and it’s increasingly harder for me to find anything I like. I resort more and more to catalogues, and resign myself to sending back whatever doesn’t fit. Sigh…

Leave a Reply

