Yarn binge

I’ve been so good lately. Since I moved away from Boston (8 months ago), I have only purchased yarn for specific projects that I planned to begin right away. My stash did not grow one teensy-weensy bit. Until Friday.

My favorite not-so-local yarn shop, Knitting Etc. in Ithaca, NY, had its spring sale this weekend. Uh-oh.

Okay, so I’ve been dying to make Brooklyn Tweed’s Hemlock Ring Blanket ever since he showed the first tantalizing photos of it.  He recommends Cascade Ecological Wool? Okay, skeins leap into bag.

Thrummed mittens. I’ve always wanted to make thrummed mittens. (Don’t you just love the sound of the words, “thrummed mittens”? Gorgeous!) Three, no four balls of Jamieson’s Shetland Heather, in a color bewilderingly called Hairst (what on earth is Hairst?) And beyond my control, they just jumped into my bag.

Oh, yes, and then there’s the pattern for the King of all Wild Things Crown by Theresa Belville, which just begged to be made from Cascade 220 (which felts so beautifully) in two luscious shades of blue. My youngest son is just the sort of lighthearted soul to wear a crown like this with aplomb! One, two skeins just appear out of nowhere into my bag.

And then I just saw some Rowan Silk Wool DK “Classic Yarn” that was so soft and such a gorgeous shade of olive green that I just had to buy it. What to make of it? Who knows! Maybe a scarf…or something. I may just keep the skeins to just run their buttery softness across my face from time to time. Who needs to make anything of them when the skeins on their own are so lovely?

My husband thinks I’m weird. Maybe he’s right.

One Response to “Yarn binge”

  1. Nope, not weird. Just a regular old knitter! It sounds like you needed every single one of those skeins of yarn 🙂 Can’t wait to see pictures!

Leave a Reply

