Fickle mind

This is the part of winter I find hardest to deal with. It is so close to spring, but just not close enough. It sometimes feels like the brass ring on a merry-go-round, which you can see but just…can’t…quite…reach.

Two days ago, it was 60 degrees here. The sun was shining, the short-sleeved t-shirts were out, and I was ready to abandon my knitting in favor of garden gloves. I felt lighter and springier and all-around wonderful.

Hee-hee-hee, said Mother Nature, and blessed us with an ice storm.

Oh well, more time for knitting, I suppose. I have no finished objects to display with pride, though. I’ve knit a few rows on my new spring hat:

spring-hat.jpg

I’ve finished the back of my husband’s sweater (begun in 2007. February 2007. Yes, more than a year ago.):

sweater-back.jpg

And I’m still stuck on the same row of my Kathryn Alexander hat:

kathryn-alexander-hat.jpg

There is a reason I haven’t been able to make much progress on my knitting projects. My fickle mind has been turned by the luscious colors and textures found here…  Hurry on spring!

gardenpron.jpg

One Response to “Fickle mind”

  1. Hahaha… I love seeing the garden books — it’s a perfect almost-spring distraction from knitting. The springtime hat is certainly a garden-like shade of green! I hate to say it, but spring has most definitely sprung here. It sounds like bragging now, but come August, when you have a lovely green garden, and I’m living in my California sea of brown, the shoe will be on the other foot 🙂

Leave a Reply

