ZaZa Hurrah!

Okay, so this is supposed to be a knitting blog, so why am I about to wax rhapsodic about a local restaurant? Because it was so @#$%& good, that’s why!

I should preface this by saying that I’m the mother/stepmother of four, and that dining-out opportunities usually max out at Applebee‘s or Bertucci’s (oh, how I miss Bertucci’s!). But as a special Valentine’s treat, my husband took me out for a very special meal (and, knowing me as well as he does, he knew I’d enjoy it so much more if it wasn’t actually ON Valentine’s Day.)

We went to ZaZa’s, and now I am hooked.

For starters, I had mussels with a fresh puttanesca sauce (and you have to feel a little deliciously wicked when you say the word “puttanesca,” don’t you?). The portion was beyond generous; it was downright flamboyant, and so very flavorful too. Tangy tomatoes and olives, creamy mussels, delicious….

Followed up by seared tuna, potatoes, and fresh spinach in a balsamic reduction. I just love tuna, but I’m too cowardly in the kitchen to cook it myself (and so I always overcook it). Sensually creamy pink in the center, with crispy pan-seared edges. Oh yes. Oh yes.

Match that with a fragrant Chianti (Renzo Masi Chianti Riserva). Then follow it with a cappucino and fabulous creme brulee (I love the way the sugar just crumbles under the spoon…)

I’m going to be remembering that meal for a long time to come…. through many visits to Applebees and food courts and what-not…

2 Responses to “ZaZa Hurrah!”

  1. Wow. You’ve got me wanting to fly out there toute suite for a meal of my own! I’m so glad that you got to have an evening out just the two of your somewhere special. And I’m absolutely with you on the V-day thing — it’s not my kind of day at all. 🙂

  2. Hurray, I found you! I’d been occasionally checking in at the old blog and sadly leaving upon seeing the familiar Blog on hiatus message.

    You’ve had quite a year already. Wonder where it will take you and what you end up doing with your career. Enjoy the knitting/free time!

Leave a Reply

