Springtime woollies

When I was growing up in Texas, the whole concept of spring woolens was utterly foreign to me. By mid-February, we could start our gardens. Easter egg hunts could always be held outdoors (unless there was a freak thunderstorm, not a completely rare occurrence). And by the end of April, we were looking wistfully at our air conditioners, wondering just how long we could put off the inevitable (tolerable coolness in the house, or wicked high electric bills?).

But after a decade away from Texas, I understand now.

In my Boston years, I learned to scoff at those who claimed that the gardening season began on St. Patrick’s Day. Local legend held that you could plant peas on March 17th, but every year I lived there, it was way too cold and definitely too soggy to plant anything in the garden. (Better to head to your nearest Irish pub and have a few pints until spring really arrived.) And upstate New York is no different. (Not as many Irish pubs, though.)

So what a delight to have this little package arrive on my doorstep:

box.jpg

I have drooled over the Patternworks catalog for years, but I’ve never ordered from them before. But I saw a little gem on sale that caught my eye…

yarn.jpg

Doesn’t this just scream out “Spring is coming! Spring is coming!” It’s daffodils and newly mown grass and blue skies and electric green foliage and warm sunshine, all bundled up in a single skein of yarn.

This is destined to become a felted hat, according to the pattern that came with it. I do have my fingers crossed that I’ll have enough yarn, though. The pattern and yarn makes a hat for a 21-inch head. I have been endowed with an extra large head, so I’ll have to make mine a full 2 inches bigger to get over my big noggin. I know that felting is an inexact art, so I’m just hoping that there’s enough to knit it bigger and not felt it quite so much…

But this could become a real staple of my spring wardrobe!

2 Responses to “Springtime woollies”

  1. You’re right — that yarn is spring in a skein. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that there’s enough in here for the hat to be perfect! Maybe you could knit it top-down so that if you need to use a bit of something else for the edging, you could?

  2. “spring in a skein” – exactly! And it’s *so* not-spring here in NH: more snow! I’ve got that same catalog here somwhere….

Leave a Reply

