Happy New Year!

Blink once, and the holidays are here and gone. It seemed I was just complaining about Christmas stuff already being in the stores before Halloween, and now the after-holiday sales have cleared all the stuff out of the stores, all to be replaced by Valentine’s goodies.<> It always surprises me.

Our holidays were low-key this year, mostly because a way of nasty tummy-ailments managed to knock everyone flat–except for me. (I’m convinced someone up there was looking out for me, since I was the one to nurse the sick kids and the sick hubby, and yet I didn’t get struck down myself.)

But we’re all healthy now, and have much to look forward to in the new year. We (and by “we,” I mean Tim) hooked up the hot tub (which had been hogging a spot in the driveway since we moved here), and my back will be most appreciative of that hot-water therapy. A sideboard that we ordered months ago is due to arrive this afternoon, and by the end of the week, we’ll have the KitchenAid stand mixer that we ordered in July. (Yes, July!)

I have to say, the mixer was the deal of the century. Lowe’s made a mistake in the printing of a Sunday ad in the paper, listing the mixer at half of its regular price. And when they chose to honor the printed price, they were flooded with orders! We ordered ours while we still lived in the Boston area, and have had no end of phone calls and conversations with the Lowe’s there about getting our mixer sent here. But, knock wood and cross fingers, the mixer has arrived at the store there and will be shipped to us on Wednesday. A little late for holiday baking, but a welcome addition to our kitchen nonetheless.

Ah, but the holidays did bring me a lovely knitting treat. My very observant husband noticed how much I admired a hat kit by Kathryn Alexander, the one called “peak brim box crown star top.” The picture on the website really doesn’t do it justice. The colors are luscious, and the little triangles give the hat so much texture and a real sense of whimsy. It will be a challenge to knit, but lots of fun! Look for pictures to come as I make some progress.

Another lovely knitting treat, again from my very observant husband, was a yarn ball winder! Imagine, I’ve been knitting for about 30 year now, maybe more, and I’ve been winding balls by hand all that time. I used the yarn ball winder to make little baby yarncakes out of all 16 colors in the Kathryn Alexander kit, and what fun that was! I just wanted to keep winding and winding and winding….

And as 2007 winds down and we head into 2008, I have (of course) made a few resolutions. I’m hoping that with age comes wisdom, and that my resolutions are made in a way in which I can actually achieve them:

  1. Since the age of about 15, I’ve always had the resolution to lose weight. (Doesn’t nearly everyone?) But somehow, the resolution isn’t enough to spur me to action, and I think the reason for that is the negative nature of the resolution. (Don’t eat so much. Don’t eat cheese. Don’t eat French fries. Don’t eat butter. Don’t don’t don’t.) Besides, that only puts the emphasis on the outside, when the real change needs to happen inside. So this year, I will strive to be healthier. I’ll eat more vegetables. I’ll get out and walk more, and go to the gym more. I’ll make better choices–little ones that add up (I hope) to big results. I deserve better than what I’ve been doing to my body, and now is the time to do something.
  2. The other resolution is made in the same spirit, which is to make better choices about what to do with what little free time I have. I’ve already cut out a lot of TV time (which has been absolutely painless!), but I’ve found myself drawn too much into mindless internet surfing. Mind you, reading blogs, writing blogs, doing research on knitting patterns and yarns and techniques certainly does not fall into the category of mindlessness! But I find that I get sidetracked too often, and waste time surfing pointlessly, when I could be knitting more. Surf less, knit more!

That’s it for now. Two simple resolutions that are good for body and soul.

I hope you and yours have a happy new year!

2 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. The peak brim crown hat is perfect for flights of fantasy.

    I think a number of us are feeling the drain of time via surfing. Choices.

  2. That hat project looks like so much fun! Definitely a joyful sort of knit. And congrats on the ball-winder — I don’t know how I lived without mine for so long. The girls think it’s pretty neat, too (so do the cats, but that’s a different story). Your resolutions seem absolutely perfect for the new year; much more about positive than “don’t”, which is always a great way to go about it 🙂 Happy New Year to you all!

Leave a Reply

