Snowy day

The kids are all home today on a snow day–it’s been snowing steadily since 7:45 am, and the prediction is as much as 10 inches of snow by the time the storm passes.

One thing I love about snow storms is how they slow everything down. We can’t go anywhere (without great effort), so we stay home and do old-fashioned things. I’m knitting on my Delicato mitts. My husband is working on his studio (the insulation is done and he’s starting to put up the waferboard). The kids are in the backyard making another snowman. The cats are napping on the radiator covers. And the house is so quiet.hoya-plant.jpg

The snow doesn’t really show up in this picture, but it’s out there. This is my favorite window in the house. It’s got leaded glass panels on both sides, and an extra wide sill that is perfect for plants and cats. These two plants are hoya plants, started from cuttings of my grandmother’s plant. They are perfect for my Darwinian style of houseplant maintenance, because they don’t seem too bothered by neglect! (I’m great with my outdoor garden, but often forget about the houseplants.)

My grandmother’s plant was an outdoor plant–she lived in Los Angeles, and her plant thrived in the weather there. I took cuttings from that plant ages ago–it must’ve been no later than the mid-1990s, because my grandmother passed away in 1998. I think about her a lot when gardening (both indoors and out). She had an amazing garden on a very small scale in her tiny corner of L.A. Her strawberries regularly grew to the size of plum tomatoes, and her tomatoes were to die for. Long before composting became hip and cool, she was burying her vegetable waste in the backyard. It was what you did way back when–paper trash was burned at the incincerator down the road, vegetable waste was buried in the backyard, and only noncombustibles (like cans and such) were picked up by the trash collectors. Her soil was amazing. Of course, given the fact she was within spitting distance of the Santa Monica Freeway meant that her soil probably had more than a few toxins in it. Perhaps that explains the massive strawberries…?

Leave a Reply

